We've updated our Terms of Use. You can review the changes here.

Hi God People / Dead C : split 12"

by Nervous Jerk label

  • Streaming + Download

    Includes high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more. Paying supporters also get unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app.
    Purchasable with gift card

      name your price




In 2006 Melbourne's Nervous Jerk label released this split 12" vinyl LP featuring Australia's Hi God People and New Zealand's Dead C. This online edition is offered to you free-of-charge to mark the ten-year anniversary of the original release.

Journey with us back in time to 2006. it was a big year for Hi God People. Off the back of playing the 2005 What is Music festival at the Forum in Melbourne, HGP in 2006 supported Sonic Youth, Wolf Eyes and other musicians, appeared on ABC TV's 'Set' program, and played the Hobart Fringe Festival. At this point the band had released a number of DIY recordings, and thought it was time to record in a studio.

Over several days at the RMIT recording studio, Julian, Dylan, Dion and Greg improvised several hours of music with producer James Wilkinson engineering, before selecting three passages for overdubbing with voices, keyboards and other sounds. The tracks were mixed at James' studio in Fitzroy.

Michael Kucyk, at that time the producer of 3RRR's "Noise In My Head", offered to release a split 12" with HGP on one side and the Dead C on the other. The Dead C chose two live recordings from an appearance at All Tomorrow's Parties. Dylan drew the cover art and the record was released in 2006. Video producer Jason Heller made a clip for one track - see link below.


released December 1, 2006


Dead C tracks by Bruce Russell, Michael Morley and Robbie Yeats, recorded at All Tomorrow's Parties 2002 at UCLA, Los Angeles

Hi God People tracks by Julian Williams, Dylan Martorell, Dion Nania and Greg Wadley, recorded by James Wilkinson at RMIT Melbourne. Spoken word by Ellen, aged 7

cover art by Dylan Martorell

video clip for 'Tiger Tooth Bangles of Nomo' by Jason Heller

released in 2006 on the 'Nervous Jerk' label in a limited edition of 500 vinyl records

re-released via BandCamp in 2016 (ten year anniversary)


all rights reserved



the SPILL Label Melbourne, Australia

Indie music label and studio, started in the 1980s, based in Melbourne Australia.


contact / help

Contact the SPILL Label

Streaming and
Download help

Report this album or account

If you like Hi God People / Dead C : split 12", you may also like: